It is a measure of our success that today many participate in the
creation and dissemination of Black history. From noted scholars, to
teachers, to community leaders, and artist, the study and celebration of Black history has been enriched. In recognition of those who contribute, ASALH makes a number of awards at our Annual Convention or in partnership with other organizations.

Our national awards are as follows:

Carter G. Woodson Scholars Medallion

Mary McLeod Bethune Service Award

Council Award of Special Recognition

Living Legacy Award –

The Carter G. Woodson Award (In Partnership with the National Education Association)
Wesley-Logan Prize in African Diaspora History (In Partnership with the American Historical Association)


%d bloggers like this: