Mary McLeod Bethune Service Award

This award was established in tribute to Dr. Mary McLeod Bethune because of her dynamic leadership and her years of contributing to  education, women’s history, and African-American life and culture. Dr. Bethune served as the first woman president of ASALH from  1936 to 1951 and is one of the most outstanding women role models in our history. The award recipient must be a member of ASALH  who has been an active supporter and contributor to the ASALH’s work for 10 or more years. The individual’s significant contribution  must have been in at least five of the following areas: Branch work; service on the Executive Council; fund raising; work on the Black  History Month Theme Material; education; and the Woodson House Campaign. Finally, the recipient will be one whose career has been highlighted with service to education, African  American history, and the community. All these attributes symbolize the life of Dr. Bethune. The award is presented annually.

1995 Jeanette L. Cascone

1996 Edgar Toppin

1997 Sylvia M. Jacobs

1998 Roland C. McConnell

1999 Wayland McClellan

2000 Alton Parker Hornsby

2001 Shirley Kilpatrick

2002 Madlyn Calbert and Rev. William E. Calbert

2003 Adelaide Cromwell

2004 Rev. Richard T. Adams

2005 Edna McKenzie and Elmer Geathers

2006 Bettye Gardner and Elizabeth Clark-Lewis

2007 Paul Edwards and  Lillie Edwards

2008 Barbara Walker and  Dolores Nehemiah

2009 Bob Hayden

2010 Florence Radcliffe

2011 Daryl Michael Scott

2012 Janet Sims-Wood

2013 No Award

2014 Barbara Spencer Dunn

2015 Louis Hicks

2016 LaVonne Neal and Lois Watson

%d bloggers like this: